Drupal versus ?

I’ve wanted to get this little blog of mine hosted without having to rely upon the somewhat limiting wordpress.com domain name. I don’t think that I can change the style of this site unless I have it hosted with a host of my choice. I could use Rails to support the backend of the site but this seems like total overkill and someone at my place of work suggested that take a look at the Drupal CMS. I installed Drupal on my PC but I’ve not really had time to play with it during the past few weeks. It seems incredibly powerful but it also looks like there is a very big learning curve and frankly I can do without that right now.

I was just flicking through an old issue of .net magazine (known as Practical Web Design outside of the UK) and found an article on building WordPress themes. It seems the obvious solution. I guess that I saw WordPress simply as a blogging tool, but hey, what is my site going to be? Well a blog and somewhere to experiment a little so WordPress should be fine for now.

Sorry Drupal, you seem like an excellent CMS but I just don’t have the time to figure out how to tame you.

~ by gblake on August 31, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
